ICNF 2015 - 2nd International Conference on Natural Fibers

Conference Chair

Raul Fangueiro, School of Engineering, University of Minho, Portugal

Scientific committee

Aart van Vuure, Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium
Adriana Restrepo
, Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana, Colombia
António Gomes Correia , University of Minho, Portugal
António Torres Marques, University of Porto, Portugal
Artur Cavaco Paulo, University of Minho, Portugal
Carlos Orrego, Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Colombia
Claudio Scarponi, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Elvira Fortunato, Nova University of Lisbon, Portugal
Dilip Tambyrajah, International Natural Fiber Organization, Netherlands
Gary Carrasco, Paper and Fiber Research Institue, Norway
Grzegorz Spychalski, Institute of Natural Fibres and Medicinal Plants, Poland
Helena Cristina Vasconcelos, The University of Azores, Portugal
Hu Hong, Hong Kong Polytechnic Institute, Hong Kong
Jan Ivens, University of Leuven, Belgium 
Jiri Militky, Technical University of Liberec, Czech Republic
Joaquim Barros, University of Minho, Portugal
John Summerscales, Advanced Composites Manufacturing Centre, Plymouth University, England
José Barroso Aguiar , University of Minho, Portugal
Juan P. Hinestroza, Cornell University, USA
Júlia Baruque, University of São Paulo, Brazil
Lubos Hes, Technical University of Liberec, Czech Republic
Luminita Ciobanu, "Gheorghe Asachi" Technical University of Iasi, Romania
MaƂgorzata Zimniewska, Institute of Natural Fibres and Medicinal Plants, Poland
Margarida Casal, University of Minho Portugal
Maria Gabriela Meirelles, The University of Azores, Portugal
Maria Isabel Felisberti, State University of Campinas, Brazil
Mário de Araújo, University of Minho, Portugal
Mark Staiger, Deakin University, Australia
Mohamed Sonebi, Queen's University Belfast, United Kingdom
Morsyleide de Freitas Rosa, Empresa Brasileira de Pesquisa Agropecuária (EMBRAPA), Brazil
Orlando J. Rojas, North Carolina State University , USA
Patrícia Marino, National Institute for Industrial Technology, Argentina
Paulo Lourenço, University of Minho, Portugal
Qi Zhou, BIOMIME - Swedish Center for Biomimetic Fiber Engineering, Sweden
Raechel Laing, University of Otago, New Zealand
Raj Das , University of Auckland, New Zealand
Rajesh Anandjiwala, CSIR - Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa
Ramasamy Alagirusamy, Indian Institute of Technology, India
Rasiah Ladchumananandasivam, Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Roshan Paul, Hohenstein Institute, Germany
Rudolf Hufenus, Empa - Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Switzerland
Sabu Thomas, Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, India
Samrat Mukhopadhyay, Indian Institute of Technology - Delhi, India
Seeram Ramakrishna, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Sofiane Amziane, Blaise Pascal University, France
Sohel Rana, University of Minho, Portugal
Steve Eichhorn, University of Exeter, England
Xiangming Zhou, Brunel University, England
Xungai Wang , Deakin University, Australia
You Lo Hsieh, University of California, Davis, USA


Organizing committee

Carlos Almeida, Fibrenamics, University of Minho
Carlos Mota, TecMinho, University of Minho
Catarina Guise, University of Minho
Cátia Relvas, TecMinho, University of Minho
Clecio de Lacerda, University of Minho
Daniel Dourado, TecMinho, University of Minho
Fernanda Steffens, University of Minho
Fernando Cunha, TecMinho, University of Minho
Francisco Miranda, TecMinho, University of Minho
Jefferson Souza Mendes, University of Minho
José Sampaio, University of Minho
Juliana Cruz, TecMinho, University of Minho
Nívea Vila, University of Minho
Raquel Carvalho, TecMinho, University of Minho
Rita Rebelo, University of Minho
Roberto Soares, TecMinho, University of Minho
Sara Silva, TecMinho, University of Minho
Shama Parveen, University of Minho
Sílvia Carvalho, Fibrenamics, University of Minho
Sohel Rana, University of Minho
Subramani Pichandi, University of Minho





  • - Application form (doc, pdf)
  • - Cond. of entry (pdf)
  • - Jury (doc, pdf)


Abstract submission

30th October 2014

15th November 2014

Communication of acceptance

12th December 2014

Early registration

28th February 2015

Full Paper Submission

8th March 2015

Award Application

31th March 2015


email: secretariat

Registration form

Available soon